BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

A quick update from school

I managed not to severely embarass myself today at school (at least that I know of.)  One thing I dislike about the school though is the district’s recent push towards saving power.  Now, most of the things don’t bug me at all – in fact, I’m not even sure what most of the changes they’ve made are.  They have however, been successful – despite adding a bunch of new schools over the last few years, the district is still using the same amount of power.

There is however, one really good idea that has not worked out so well in the faculty bathroom – motion sensors for the lights.  There are already motion sensors in many parts of the school, for security purposes (those pesky kids trying to sneak in and learn on the weekends!) so they recently (within the last couple of years) hooked many of them up to the lights.  If there’s no movement in a room for a few minutes, the lights go out.  Wah-lah – power saved!  Now, in my room, for example, it works out quite well.  The lights go off automatically for me if I happen to leave them on, say, .  However, in the male faculty bathroom, the lights seem to go out on me quite frequently as I’m sitting in the stall because there is no visible movement in the room.  Maybe it’s just because I often head in early in the morning, but two out of the three times I’ve used the restroom so far this year, the lights have gone out on me in the bathroom while I was in the stall.  Did I mention that the bathroom is in the middle of the building?  There are no windows, so it gets pitch black in there.  There’s very little that can be done at this point from inside the stall.  No movement is picked up until you walk out (I have tried swinging my arms around wildly.)  Swinging the door back and forth doesn’t accomplish anything either.  Basically, I’ve resigned myself to groping around for the toilet paper and then finishing in the dark.  I’m actually getting pretty good at it.

The thing that I think is the funniest, however, is that there are light switches for the student bathrooms.  Have you been in a Junior High bathroom recently?  (Please say no.)  Why are they more trustworthy than us with electricity?

August 26, 2008 - Posted by | From the Frontlines of the Education of America, Ron's Posts | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hey ron, next time just start throwing toilet paper rolls. If anyone questions you later tell them how it was dark, and you couldnt find the right spot for the toilet paper. They’re bound to belive that toilet paper 16 feet from the stall was just a good first attempt at blind whiping. linds

    Comment by Mjrfrankburns | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Unfortunately, the toilet paper is stuck inside the roller thing. I think you need a screwdriver or something to open it up – and how much fun would that be to try to get that to work in the dark?

    Comment by brondabailey | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. Try opening your cell phone to create light. People think it’s funny to turn the lights out on me at work, and I have found that to be quite handy. You might even get enough light for the sensors to pick it up. Happy trails!

    Comment by Duke | August 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. TMI

    Comment by Diane | September 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

