BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Bear Lake ’08

Bear Lake 2008

Well, we made our annual trek up to Bear Lake.  For those of you not in the know, my mom LOVES to go camping up at Bear Lake.  Something about relaxation, peace, quiet and the like.  Me, I find it slightly less cool (but maybe that’s because I always used to forget my pillow so I always had difficulty sleeping – or maybe it’s because I went so many times before I owned a Game Boy or a Nintendo DS.)  Anyway, we’ve definitely had some good times up at Bear Lake since we got married, and since my mother requested more photos on my blog, I thought I’d provide a retrospective.

Was that a good amount of pictures, Mom?  Besides my immediate family, the other recurring people in the slideshow are the Axelrods, (Barry, Paula, Lisa, and Rachel.)  They’re family friends Mom met way back in the day when she was a Girl Scout volunteer and I was in High School (I think.)  It was them that first invited us to Bear Lake (on some Girl Scout leader activity – bah, humbug!  Maybe that’s where my resentment comes from.)

I have had some definite good times there, though, despite my whining (despite my rants to the contrary Bear Lake is not all about craft fairs that I personally have nicknamed Crap Fairs.)  Bren and I did a very cold scuba dive there (we saw 1 whole fish and some interesting rocks, it was howeverm cooler than that makes it sound.)  The time we went there to stay in a condo for Thanksgiving was a lot of fun too – definitely a different side of Bear Lake when it was REALLY cold, not just cold compared to home.  The Easter we spent there really interesting too – we celebrated Passover with Barry (“Who wants doughnuts during the feast of the unleavened bread?” said Ron, though not quite in as many words)  Our first ever experience geocaching (as seen in the slideshow!) was there as well – and that’s something Bren and I have picked up on and enjoy.

Bear Lake 2008

Generally though, I think it’s a long way to go for a smaller, less comfortable bed.  And it wouldn’t be a trip to Bear Lake without me whining (at least) a small amount.  However, Luke had his first trip to Bear Lake this weekend, so I decided to provide the photos for the world. When we took him out to the actual lake, Bren and I were not very optimistic at his chances of having a good time. He’s never shown much inkling towards liking water in any amount larger than the tub before now. Every time we’ve taken him swimming, he tolerates it (and tolerated us repeatedly trying to get him to smile), but has never been anywhere near as keen on swimming as he is on bathing (which he enjoys immensely.) So, we decided that since none of us really wanted to get in and we’d forgotten a shirt for Luke to wear especially for swimming after all, that we’d just have fun at the beach. We’d take Luke in, he’d wade around a little, then we’d go sit down.

Bren and I, however, had underestimated Luke’s enjoyment of the lake. The water was warm (for Bear Lake at least) and as soon as he got in, he wanted to sit and splash. Though we’d taken his suit and swimming diapers up to the lake, we had left them at the trailer, and we didn’t want him too soaked so we did our best to let him play without letting him plop down. I feel a little bad about the whole thing in retrospect -if I’d known he was going to go ga-ga over the lake, we definitely would have put on our own suits so he could sit and play. *sigh* I did my best after the fact though!  And my iPod made sitting on the beach more tolerable than the good ole days as well!

Bear Lake 2008

September 1, 2008 - Posted by | Family News, Flickr Update, Ron's Posts |

4 Comments »

  1. We went to Bear Lake once since I was married. Kristi hated it. I don’t think we’ll be going back, maybe ever. 😛

    It seems like every other weekend growing up, my parents would pack the family off to somewhere in Logan Canyon. I’m a little burned out on camping for the rest of my life, but we used to go to Bear Lake two or three times a year. Our favorite place to camp, though, was Tony Grove Lake and Lewis M Turner Campground about 3/4 up the canyon. Ever been?

    Nice pictures. Interesting slideshow app.

    Comment by Jeremy | September 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Luke looks likes he loves it! We haven’t tried the whole water thing with AJ. He does love his baths though! Great pics, thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Amber Goddard | September 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ron! You are supposed to sit and meditate while listening to the sounds of the waves, not listen to your ipod. I am very disappointed in you.

    Comment by Village Empress | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks so much for all the great pictures. I love them.

    I’m looking forward to your post on Peach Days and see if Jeremy feels the same about the grand ole celebration.

    I can’t wait to read your post on the family pictue experience.

    Love ya!!!!

    Comment by Resqmom | September 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

