BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Reminiscing about Music and White and Nerdy Lego Style

One of the many things I enjoy in life is a good Weird Al song.  He has a penchant for taking a popular song, adding the mundaness (mundanaity?) of real life, and making me laugh.  Truth be told, when I was a young lad, I liked Weird Al a little to much.  For anyone who’s never made a mix tape – trust me – it took a lot longer than a mix CD.  A lot.  And I made a lot of Weird Al mix tapes.  There were my album copies and then my “favorites” tapes with just the best songs.  I remember when I put a new stereo in the van I drove when I was around 18.  The tape player could skip songs on tapes!  I remember thinking how super cool that was, until I realized how it did it.  The stereo would listen for blank spots in the music (you know, the pauses between songs) and it would go to the next pause.  Unfortunately, it rarely worked with my mix tapes because I had not left long enough blank space in between songs – but I still remember how cool it was.

Luckily, when I returned from my intercontinental “vacation” to a world where MP3’s were the norm and burning CDs was fast, easy, and much less time intensive than tapes, I had siblings to show me how it all worked.  I guess where I’m going with this it that those good old days of tapes were good.  I don’t want to go back, but they were fun at the time.

So, back to Weird Al.  Once, on a trip home from Salt lake with my mom and her mom, I asked (ever so politely I’m sure) if we could listen to Weird Al (I guess I carried tapes with me everywhere or something.)  Mom politely refused the offer.  I impolitely took it upon myself to entertain myself in the back seat and decided to sing the Weird Al songs the whole way home.  I’m lucky they didn’t just abandon me somewhere to make my way in the world far out of ear shot.

So, when I came across this video the other day, I thought it was awesome.  Some sort of stop motion project like this would be VERY cool (if time consuming) to attempt some day.

For anyone interested, you can see the original music video (with Donny Osmond cameo!) here.

September 15, 2008 - Posted by | Amusing Anecdote, Quality Video gleaned from the 'Net, Ron's Posts | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ahh the halcyon days of the mix tape…good times.

    As far as I’m concerned Weird Al is brilliant. His references and allusions in his lyrics and musical phrases are genius. I saw him a couple of years ago and he puts on a great live show.

    Comment by Jason | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. You always have such random blogs. It makes me laugh. Rich loves Weird Al, too. Just one more things you guys have in common. Every Christmas he thinks we should listen to “Christmas at Ground Zero.” We never have– Christmas is my holiday and I tend to win out there. It also helps that we’re in the car so much and he sleeps to avoid getting motion sickness. . . But he still makes a big deal about it every year.

    Comment by Ve | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. I secretly wish that they had a Donny Osmond Lego set…well I guess it’s not a secret anymore is it?

    Comment by Chew | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Now that you mention, you are lucky I didn’t leave you on the side of the road. And the singing was from Draper not Salt Lake.

    Go Weird Al!!!

    love to all,

    Resq–

    Comment by Resqmom | September 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

