BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Luke sees Star Wars on the big screen!

Labor Day was a very nice day for the Baileys. Luke slept in, Mom slept in, and Dad, of course, decided to join in just to make them not feel guilty about how they were wasting away a purely fabulous day. We did have to catch up on our laundry since we had gone up to Bear Lake Friday night, but generally we just relaxed at home (which is something we don’t always get the chance to do and is very refreshing when it does happen.)

Many people were very surprised when I told them I had not yet seen Star Wars: The Clone Wars. It had been released on August 15, yet here it was two weeks later and I had still not seen it. I think there are three big reasons that combine together to explain why.

1. I’ve grown up a little. I know, this is hard to believe, and while I freely admit that this is the least likely of the three, it might be a teensy weensy part. Don’t be shocked, I still play video games, goof off a lot, make a lot of seventh-grade level jokes and most importantly I still love Star Wars, but seeing a movie on opening night isn’t as important as it used to be. Who’d have thunk?
2. I had just started back to school in preparation for a new year – which limits my weekday activities – and we’d had busy weekends. It’s amazing what a big chunk of time work takes out of your day. There really hadn’t been an opportunity to go see it.
3. Luke. Now, don’t misunderstand, I’m not blaming Luke for destroying my movie watching habits (although you could probably make that case if you wanted to.) I say Luke because I wanted to take Luke along to see it with me (it was optional for Brenda.) Up until about a year ago I thought Star Wars movies were done and over with. When I heard that it was coming out as a movie, my first thought was, “I have to take Rake to see it!” (it was before Luke was born so we didn’t know yet if he was a Luke or a Rachel.) I’m not sure how many more chances we’ll have to see Star Wars in a theater. While the build up to Clone Wars has been relatively muted compared to Episodes I, II, and III, I’m sure there were still plenty of rabid fanboys who went to see it on opening night and I didn’t want anyone yelling at me telling me to get my baby quiet – so we waited a little while to go see it.

Car SeatHowever, as Labor Day dawned, the decision was made. We were going! I probably should have saved the ticket stub for Luke’s book of remembrance (which I don’t think we actually have.) We had lunch with our friends, Matt, Dawn, and their son Rodney. Then we headed out together to see the movie. On the way, I realized that though Luke spends a significant amount of time in his car seat, I don’t have many pictures of him in it, so for posteCar Seatrity’s sake, I snapped two pictures. I’m so glad I did, they turned out just awesome (it’s so convenient when he smiles!)

I saw two former students in the lobby at the movie theater which I thought was fun (it’s always fun to meet them out in the “real world.”) I had wrongly assumed that the theater would be fairly empty (this was after all, a two week old movie aimed mostly at kids.) I was wrong, it was actually pretty darn full, but we were lucky enough to find five seats together in the back (Luke sat on our laps, Rodney sat in his car seat in another chair.) I had hoped not to go all the way to the back because it would such a long walk if one of us had to take a baby out. Both babies did great though, and no one had to leave

As for the movie itself, I quite enjoyed it. It was fun and the lightsaber battles were especially cool. The interaction betweem Anakin and his new hot-headed Padawan Asoka was fun, but it also made me wonder why no one had ever bothered to mention her before. Maybe the lack of hype helped this movie – the other Prequels had all been hyped beyond their capacity to perform. I’m not sure why they got Samuel L. Jackson to be in the movie since they only gave him like three lines.  And I actually thought that rescuing Jabba the Hutt’s son, (nicknamed Stinky) was  pretty exciting, especially as Dooku kept trying to blame the whole thing on the Jedi.  The music, though not composed by John Williams (some guy named Kevin Kiner I’ve never heard of before did it) was really enjoyable, especially the different arrangement of the main Star Wars theme. I bought the soundtrack on iTunes Clone Warsbecause I liked it so much. Overall, I’d recommend the movie, especially to Star Wars fans (most of whom have probably already seen it.)

In case you haven’t heard, the movie was originally going to be the first three episodes of a new Clone Wars TV series, but I suppose George Lucas remembered that he hadn’t made a billion dollars in a few years so he decided to make it into a movie instead. One thing Clone Wars definitely did do was get me excited for the new TV series (it starts next month!) to continue the story.  Don’t worry George, I’ll be watching!

And who knows, maybe the bearded, flanneled one (George Lucas for those of you not in on the Star Wars lingo) will decide he needs another billion and release another movie someday for me to take Luke and Rack (Rachel or Jack) to go see!  Brenda, is of course, invited to join us.  🙂

Lightsaber

This sizzling blade that can cut through ANYTHING . . . is nothing against the powers of Jedi Luke. The Force is strong with this one.

September 17, 2008 - Posted by | Family News, Ron's Posts | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I really don’t know when I will see this. I couldn’t bring myself to go out and participate in public self-shaming with a giant room full of nerds.

    I recently had a chance to watch parts of the newest Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie on TV, and although it satisfied my personal needs for ninjas and pizza and cowabunga… I don’t think it’s the type of thing that I would choose to watch with others. Even if they were into it, etc.

    I think that’s how I feel about this Star Wars movie. If you want to call it a movie, I don’t know. I can’t help but wonder whether it will just feel like a really long episode of a show or something.

    Anyway, sooner or later I’ll see it. It just seems to be a lot harder decision to get motivated to go to the theater lately.

    Cute pictures!

    Comment by Jeremy | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] the rest here: Luke sees Star Wars on the big screen! adam-and-cassie, clone, clone-wars, family, flickr, flickr-update, jason-and-amber, moffett-manor, […]

    Pingback by Luke sees Star Wars on the big screen! | starwars-fanatics.com | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Luke actually looks happy in his car seat. The last time I was around him when he was in it he was sreaming! Very true about the kid keeping you from going to theaters. It took almost about a month to finally go see Dark Knight ( in the drive in movie mind you).

    I love the last picture. Luke Rocks!

    Comment by Amber Goddard | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. Jeremy – Redbox is always a respectable way to see movies. As much as I love Star Wars, I don’t think St. Peter will ask you if you saw “Clone Wars” in a theater before he lets you in. There might however, be a Clone Wars litmus test to get on the Supreme Court, if the Republicans take back Congress. Your nerd cred is up-to-date with me either way. 🙂

    Amber – Since he hasn’t spent as much time in it since Girl’s Camp and our vacation, he’s chilled out substantially in the car seat department.

    Comment by brondabailey | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Dear ron, i had a dream last night that you took me to the movies with luke to see star wars. anyways when we got there you were really rude a said luke needed his own seat, so in a packed theatre you made me sit in the isle. i would have gone home but you drove and refused to leave star wars. I sat in the midst of soda soaked floors and popcorn and was really mad.

    I think that this dream may have stemmed from the fact that i read you blog right before i went to bed…

    Comment by mjrfrankburns | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  6. With any luck, Luke started crying and one of you got to leave that movie.

    Comment by JEFE | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. Actually, I enjoyed it quite a bit. The TV series isn’t half bad either.

    Comment by brondabailey | October 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

