BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Bren’s first blog post!

Here goes, I have finally decided to post something to our blog so that Ron doesn’t have to do all of the work. Although, since he has such wit in his writing, I hope to not disappoint anyone that comes to see what amusing story he has for the day.

We are having so much fun with Luke and all of the new things he is doing, he just keeps us laughing. I am constantly amazed how he finds things that he shouldn’t have. Ron and I go along and think we have the house fairly baby proof and all of a sudden Luke can reach a couple inches higher. He did discover the toilet the other day so we have to make sure to keep the bathroom door closed. If not, as soon as we are not looking, you can hear him crawling as fast as possible down the hall. On Sunday while I was getting ready for church, Luke came in to the bathroom and since the toilet lid was closed, he decided to go for the toilet brush. As soon as I said no and moved it from him, it became a game and he was determined to win. So I ended up wedging it between the toilet and the sink so that he couldn’t get it out. Little did I know that he would learn a great lesson about leverage. When he couldn’t get the brush out, he reached behind to where a plunger was sitting and used the leverage to get both the plunger and the toilet brush out. Of course, as I frantically dropped my makeup to get everything away from him, he just sat and laughed because he knew he had won.

Luke in kitchen

A couple of days ago I was working in the kitchen putting away some groceries and starting to make dinner. Luke, as usual, decided that he wanted to venture in to the kitchen to see what he could get into. Unfortunately for him, I was not loading the dishwasher so he couldn’t climb in there. However, he did manage to find a bag of hamburger helper boxes that he could play with. Since he is always trying to play with the video game controllers and the computer, I was very excited that for once he showed an interest in one of my hobbies, cooking. (Not that I don’t enjoy video games and the computer, but they are much more Ron’s forte than mine.) Now I just have to get him to channel his desire to hit the piano into a desire to play the piano and we will be set.

Although, a little while after playing in the kitchen, he did try to climb up on the computer chair and when I put him there, he went straight for the keyboard. I was glad the camera was right there because he was so cute.

Well there you have it, my first blog post.  Hopefully, I will be better about helping Ron post and keeping everyone updated about our family.

Luke at computer

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | Amusing Anecdote, Bren's Posts, Flickr Update | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Wow Bren! Lindsie and I adore the picutes today. And your post definatley has a “mother’s” view. Both of you keep up the good work.

    Love to all,

    RESQ–

    Comment by Resqmom | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Who needs a mother’s point of view? We need a Jedi’s point of view.

    Comment by brondabailey | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. It’s easy to forget how fast your own kids change. It’s pretty crazy to see that Luke is almost a toddler. O_o

    Comment by Jeremy | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. Baby luke determined to get a mother like you who enjoy and share his fun through internet. Best wishes.

    Comment by Thamilselvan | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  5. You guys just need to take away all of the crazy toys you have for Luke and make him subsist solely on spatulas and wire whisks like we did 🙂 Charlie really had a thing for those. You guys gave him two bright blue spatulas for his one-year-old birthday and he was SO HAPPY! Ah Luke, you are a cute one.

    Comment by Jake | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  6. Luke does have a lot of toys, but we make use of other items as well. We have had a fridge box in the basement for him to play in for months.

    Comment by brondabailey | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. Your blogs are much less random than Ron’s. lol. I’m so glad Zack likes to try to play the piano with me. I let him sit on my lap and we play duets– usually his notes are held down for long periods and they interrupt my melody lines, but it’s ok. He even likes to “read” the music books. I don’t know if he makes the connection that they’re different than regular books or not, other than the fact that they don’t have pictures. We’ll see where the future leads.

    Comment by Ve | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. luke with the hamburger helper my ALL time favorite picture of him. So cute i cant stop “luke-ing” at it.

    Yes, that was a pretty horrible joke. sorry

    Comment by mjrfrankburns | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  9. He plays with pans and kitty litter. at my house. Just kidding I need those pans to stay clean.

    Comment by Mel | September 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

