BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Huskies Pull Together – A Short Film from FJH

Alright everyone.  Here’s the moment you’ve been anticipating for at least as long ago as you started reading this sentence.  I’m proud to present the world wide web premiere of the short film, Huskies Pull Together. (FYI, the Husky is our school mascot, I didn’t go out and just buy a Husky suit for fun.)

Yes, it’s cheesy, there’s no debating it.  It was written by myself and some of the officers (towards the end of our preparation time, I ended up penning some of it so we could get it done in time.)  I’m proud to say though that the husky pulling the sled idea was not mine – one of my officers came up with it.  The idea of me sleeping is an alteration of something I saw in an class-officer-produced video way back when I was in high school.  In a video that I remember very little (actually, nothing else) about, there was a great running gag.  Between shots of whatever that movie was about, it would cut to a shot of a crack member of the Box Elder High School custodial squad standing with a hose watering the lawn. Herp Alpert and the Tijuana Brass’s version of “Spanish Flea” blasted in the background as the guy watered the lawn.  It was weird the first time, funny the second and flippin’ sweet after that.  Ah the, power of a running gag . . .

Interestingly, a lot of my music choices for the movie (I editted the movie and added the soundtrack at home in my spare time, time I could have spent losing money on a half-baked get-rich-quick scam) come from other movies.  Besides “Spanish Flea,” the Fox Fanfare is from many Fox movies (most notably the Star Wars six-ology, of course) the “I’m Just a Kid” song is from Cheaper by the Dozen, “Eye of the Tiger” is of course from one of the Rocky movies (IV?  The one when he fights the Russian?), the “Imperial March” is from that one movie whose name I can’t remember (Star Trek? Spaceballs?  I can’t seem to remember), and at the end that’s “Titan Spirit” from Remember the Titans.

Despite the cheesiness of the whole thing, it seemed to be very well received by the students (or maybe because of the cheesiness?)  During the assembly, it flashed “Say it one more time: HUSKIES PULL TOGETHER” on the screen at the end and the crowd joined in.  It was a pretty cool moment for me.  No tears or anything like that, but all the time I had put into the video felt vindicated.  I heard nothing but positive comments from teachers too, which is actually saying something since we are generally a vengeful lot who dislike anyone who disrupt the normal proceedings of our classes.  The message of the movie shines through the cheesiness anyway and that’s what I was really aiming for!

So, comments?  Suggestions?  Criticism?  Multi-million dollar movie contracts?  If you want to offer me a job, save your time – I’m too busy at FJH where the huskies pull together.

September 26, 2008 - Posted by | From the Frontlines of the Education of America, Quality Video gleaned from the 'Net, Ron's Posts | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Marvelous. You are obviously a great reasouce for the students at you school. Lindsie is laughing inthe background as I type.

    Love you, Luke and Brenda

    Comment by Resqmom | September 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. I still think the Husky and the sled is adorable! Good job. Who cares if it is cheesy!

    Comment by Amber Goddard | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Fabulous job, Ron – good editing, and that looks like the officers that shot the film had a lot of fun doing it together. I think that film making is really great for that. Ron, your technological volunteerism has emulated a shining example of how HUSKIES PULL TOGETHER. Woo hoo! Yeah!

    Comment by Liz Budd | September 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

