BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Glamour Shots

Have you ever had one of those experiences when you just feel the need to pose?  Come on, tell the truth.  It’s not a daily occurrence or anything, but every once in a while, something just screams, “Hey, Ron, come pose in front of me and have someone take your picture!”  I’m not sure when this semi-odd action (at least compared to some of the other things I do) started, but I think I can trace it back to when Brenda’s dad was in the hospital.

No, I’m not blaming it on a traumatic experience, it just so happens that the hospital waiting room was the first place I saw the film (and I use that term loosely) Napoleon Dynamite.  I freely admit to hating it when I saw it.  I just didn’t get it.  There is so very little redeeming about that movie.  It’s pretty much hanging around town (in Idaho nonetheless!) with a bunch of weird people you wouldn’t want to spend a lot of time with.

Something’s changed since then.  Maybe it was the kids at junior high.  I had started teaching just a few months before the hospital experience, just in time to get hit with a wave of confusing quotes as Napoleon was enjoying it’s impressively selling DVD.  Maybe it was the girl who got in trouble for getting on the announcements one day (this was before I was in charge of the announcements) and using the words “frickin'” and “Oh my gawsh!” two times per sentence.  Maybe the charm of the moon boots caught up with me.  Maybe it’s the everyman tale that brings out the best in all of us.*  Maybe it’s the catchy credits at the beginning of the movie with writing on plates with ketchup (or catsup if you prefer) and and various other condiments.  Most likely, it’s because  I gave the movie a second chance and found it oddly hilarious the second time around.

I still can’t explain it, but I now love it.  I purchased my own copy (Like, the best special edition, ever! with bonus features that show you just how boring film making in the Gem State can be!) and have watched it many times.  If I remember right, I left the DVD in the computer for about a month and would, at certain times, flip it on just to watch a few minutes of it.

Anyway, this was the long way of getting around to this, but I had an experience like that a few weeks ago.  I wandered into the Moffett’s house looking for Luke, and guess what I found in the living room?  Artistically rendered background paintings. Guess what I ended up doing?  Right, posing for glamor shots.  I hope you enjoy them!**

Glamour Shots

Glamour Shots (3)

*Probably not.

**Also, probably not.

October 2, 2008 - Posted by | Flickr Update, Ron's Posts | ,

4 Comments »

  1. With that strange-looking landscape in the background, you two are something straight out of a Boris Vallejo painting.

    Are you imagining yourself surrounded by tiny little sea horses?

    Comment by Jeremy | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Exactly! And dolphins, because mammals RULE!

    Comment by brondabailey | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. so, you are either both very handsome young men or your photographer is amazing.

    Comment by Village Empress | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. 🙂

    Comment by brondabailey | October 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

