BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

Parowan, what’s so great about Parowan?

This last week we decided to take a family trip to St. George.  Although, it did coincide nicely with UEA break for Ron, it was actually because I had to go down there for work.  So, Wednesday night we packed up the van and headed south.  It was a nice drive and Luke did great, he slept a good part of the way which really helps.  Thursday I took care of what I needed to for work and we ended up heading back on Friday instead of Saturday.

This brings me to the fun part of my post.  We decided that we would make a couple of stops on our way home.  The first stop we planned was in Parowan.  Now, I know that many of you will think, “Why would you plan a stop in Parowan?”  The truth is, there really isn’t anything in Parowan and if you had asked me seven years ago, why would anyone stop there, I probably would have asked where exactly Parowan is.  However, there is this nice little park in downtown Parowan that I have a very special place in my heart for.

Back in February of 2002, (February 15, 2002 to be exact) the Olympics were going on in Salt Lake and Ron and I decided to take a trip to St. George to get away and meet a family friend of his.  We had three weeks off of college and thought it would be a nice road trip.  So, as we started this nice drive to St. George, I learned that road trips are not as bad as I always thought they were as a kid.  Even when Ron asked if we could stop at historic places along the way, which of course would just lengthen the trip, I found that it was actually kind of enjoyable. (I was sure surprised that history could actually be exciting.)  As we were headed south we made a stop at Historic Cove Fort which was a really nice break after being in the car for awhile and I really enjoyed it.  Not long after leaving Cove Fort, Ron noticed the signs for Parowan and said that he remembered reading some article about a great statue of Parley P. Pratt in Parowan.  So we agreed to get off and try to find it.  After cruising down the main street for just a minute, we came across City Hall and this nice little park.  Thinking that might be the perfect place to have a statue, we got out of the car to check it out.  Unfortunately, no statue, but since it was a really nice day we decided to play on the swings for a minute.  It was great a 21 and 22 year old, playing on the swings like little kids.  I’m sure had anyone actually been around they might have thought we were a little weird. After a few minutes of play time, Ron said that he had forgotten to give me a Valentine’s present.  So I sat on this little bench and he ran back to the car.  When he returned he had this adorable little stuffed Ewok that he gave me. (Ewoks are my favorite Star Wars character and it was a nice connection for us.)  As I told him how cute it was I noticed something shiny tied around his neck.  Just then, Ron knelt down in front of me and asked if I would marry him.  Obviously I said yes, the best decision I have ever made.  After the shock wore off a little, we decided that we wanted a picture to remember this cute little park by.  Of course, this was a weekday, in Parowan, and no one was around.  So we ended up walking across the street and knocking on random doors until we found a cute little old lady that came and took our picture.  From that point on Parowan would be a very special place to me.

Parowan Engagement

Fast forward six and a half years to the present day. As we headed back home from St. George on Friday, we stopped again at that cute little park in downtown Parowan, this time not looking for a statue of Parley P. Pratt, but just getting out to take some pictures and to let Luke play on the toys.  This time it was Luke swinging instead of Ron and me, but we had a great time and Luke just laughed and enjoyed it.

Parowan Park

Luke and Daddy playing on the swings.

Parowan Park

Luke had so much fun on the swings.

(I’m sure that Ron and I would have played on the swings with him too, but the city had posted a sign that said only children under 12 so we left the playing to Luke.)

Parowan Park

After letting Luke swing for awhile, I asked this nice couple that was there with their family if they would take a picture of us.  Unfortunately, there were people sitting on the bench we had taken the picture from before, so we sat down on the next bench and took an updated family picture.  What a great chance to remember that wonderful day in 2002 and to make some new family memories at the same time.

Parowan Park

October 18, 2008 - Posted by | Bren's Posts, Flickr Update | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. What a cute story! Now I know what’s so great about Parawon. : ) I’m glad Luke did well with the trip. Zack gets car sick so we try to avoid long drives.

    Comment by Ve | October 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great Story! I once spent a Spring Break in Parawan. Long Story.

    Comment by Allred's | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Road trips are the best. Did you follow through with the Berry tradition of making sandwiches on the road?

    Comment by Jason | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. I almost considered making the sandwhiches, especially since we were staying in St. George. However, I caved to the ease of Subway and we just bought them.

    Comment by brondabailey | November 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

