BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

A Tribute to John Williams (made by people much more talented than I)

Props to Jeremy for sending me this recently added YouTube video – possibly the next big Internet meme.  (Knowing how much traffic my blog gets, I’m sure it will be!)  Before we get started, the guy in the video didn’t actually sing any of the parts, however, his timing and lip syncing ability are something to behold.  (How many of you thought you’d ever read that someone’s lip syncing ability is something to behold, especially on my blog of all places?)  This will take four minutes of your time, but it seems worth it to me.

First, off, this made me think of Andy on The Office with all his goofy a Capella stuff.  Now, for the sad news.  The very talented vocalists go by the name “moosebutter.”  That’s right, not only is their name stupid, they also apparently couldn’t afford the capital letter “M” for their name when they registered with the trademark people.  It’s sad what America has come to these days.  Judging by the photo on the front page of their website, their “shtick” (does an a Capella group really need a shtick?  Shouldn’t all that harmonizing be enough?) is to wear sweat bands on their heads – you know because singing takes so much out of you sometimes.  Maybe they drink gallons of gatorade too on stage – I don’t know.

As I saw the sweat bands in their photo, I realized that I had seen them before – they were the rival singing group in the Mormon boy band movie “Sons of Provo.”  You know, that incredibly famous and money-raking-in niche film that lampoons Mormon culture through song and dance?  I can’t be the only one who remembers the classic song, “Diddly Wack Mack Mormon Daddy” can I?  I own the film, and anyone who reads here is welcome to borrow it if your interested in seeing more of moosebutter, though whatever they did in the movie is not anywhere near as memorable as this Star Wars tribute (since I remember the sweat bands more than anything else.)

Since I liked the song so much, I decided to help them out and pay the 99 cents to download the song for my future entertainment.  Maybe if enough people support them, they will be able to afford that capital “M” they need and that’ll propel them to super stardom.

Maybe.

November 5, 2008 - Posted by | Quality Video gleaned from the 'Net, Ron's Posts | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Really, you have to be the most random person I know. You just make me laugh.

    I privatized our blog and I don’t know your email. You’ll have to send it to me so I can approve you as a reader.

    Comment by Ve | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Is your new baby really coming in a month? I thought this was hot off the press, not at the day of delivery news.

    Comment by Ve | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. moosebutter (if it’s a proper noun that begins with a lower-case letter, do you start a sentence with a lower-case letter? Hmm, that’s interesting) is a group of guys from BYU. You’ll all be jealous to know I saw them live while I was at BYU at the A-capella Jam concert. Take that! Loved the video, Ron.

    Comment by Brian | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Adam’s the Enlgish teacher, not me. Adam?

    Comment by brondabailey | November 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

