BrondaBailey’s Weblog

Coming to you live from the Village!

I’m in need of assistance! (Don’t worry it won’t hurt)

I was never in pep band in high school – many of my friends were.  Sometimes I’d take a kazoo with me and try to pretend, but I was never part of the “in” crowd in band.  I know, I seem the right type to be a band geek, don’t I?

Well, that lack of pep band experience is catching up with me.  One of my current resposponsibilites as the advisor of the Student Body Officers at school (well, I guess technically, this is seperate but it’s happened because I go to all the games) is that I am in charge of the music at basketball games.  I play music before the game, during half time, and when one of the teams calls a time out. I have a blast (and today I accidentally blasted some ears!) but I’m feeling slightly defiecient in the music choice department.  My music choices are largely nerdy and based mostly on music from movies (the full nerdtastic list below!) and I’m looking to expand my horizons by putting some quality “pep” music on my CD.  So here’s my current list to play before the game starts:

1. Henry the VIII
2. Super Mario Bros.
3. Goofy Goober
4. Raiders March
5. I’m a Believer
6. Route 66
7. Girlfriend
8. Back to the Future

And this is my current list for time-outs:

1. He’s a Pirate
2. Star Wars Clone Wars
3. Dr. Mario Chill
4. James Bond
5. Best Years of our Lives
6. Disco Imperial March
7. Sh-Boom
8. William Tell Overture
9. Peter Gunn Theme
10. Jaws
11. Twist and Shout
12. Louie Louie
13. We will rock you

I know, there’s some pretty nerdy stuff on there. You should have seen the list before I cut it down.  Now, I’m happy with the choices I’ve got so far (it’s gone really well), but in two games I’ve already run through all my music at least once. I’m looking for more songs – so friends, family, any stranger who happens across my blog – here’s your homework. I need song ideas. Peppy songs. Exciting songs. Get you pumped up songs. Thanks in advance!

November 11, 2008 - Posted by | From the Frontlines of the Education of America, Ron's Posts, What do you think reader? | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Ron, it’s been a long, long time since I’ve listened to anything besides Baby Signing Time and Beauty and the Beast, but hopefully this will help:

    I think these have been played (and overplayed sometimes) at sporting events for FOREVER. Also, I can’t understand what some of them are even about or why they belong to at a game besides their tempo. But, here’s a list of “stadium songs.”

    We Will Rock You: Stadium Songs
    1. We Will Rock You – Artist: Queen
    2. We Are The Champions – Artist: Queen
    3. Mony, Mony – Artist: Tommy James and Shondells
    4. Shotgun – Artist: Jr. Walker and The All Stars
    5. I Got You (I Feel Good) – Artist: James Brown
    6. Dance To The Music – Artist: Sly And The Family Stone
    7. What I Like About You – Artist: The Romantics
    8. Born To Be Wild – Artist: Steppenwolf
    9. Shout! – Artist: The Isley Brothers
    10. Tequila – Artist: The Champs
    11. We Will Rock You – Artist: Queen
    12. We Are The Champions – Artist: Queen
    13. Mony, Mony – Artist: Tommy James and Shondells
    14. Shotgun – Artist: Jr. Walker and The All Stars
    15. I Got You (I Feel Good) – Artist: James Brown
    16. Dance To The Music – Artist: Sly And The Family Stone
    17. What I Like About You – Artist: The Romantics
    18. Born To Be Wild – Artist: Steppenwolf
    19. Shout! – Artist: The Isley Brothers
    20. Tequila – Artist: The Champs

    Also, here’s a link to an ESPN article where he says what songs he likes and dislikes at sporting events:
    http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page3/story?page=neel/040727

    I think that any current popular, upbeat pop or country song would do just fine too, I just couldn’t tell you what they are because I’m currently totally out of touch with the modern world of music.

    The only other ones I would add off the top of my head are “Eye of the Tiger” and the one that goes “Hey, hey baby – I wanna know will you be my girl?” The band always plays that one at the U volleyball games.

    Being at a Junior High, you probably want to make sure the songs are half decent. So, what I’m saying is, GOOD LUCK. I think that your list of nerd songs would be a blast.

    Comment by Liz Budd | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey Liz, thanks for your help on the song choices! I really appreciate your help!

    Comment by brondabailey | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. As a former band geek who played many a basketball ball game in my day I agree with everything Liz put down, by you are missing

    “The Final Count Down” Europe, but only like the first 50 seconds or so, before they start singing. It’s a basketball staple before the game starts.

    “Hey Baby” is sung by Bruce Channel. Playing the actual song isn’t nearly as fun as the whole audience singing it to a pep band, but I’m a pep band purist, I play it old school!

    Comment by Britty | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yakkity Sax.

    Comment by Jeremy | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. You got me on this one Rono. I was in pep bands, both in high school and college, and have been trying to recall our set lists. but I can’t think of anything that would translate to being played over the PA. So I’ll suggest a couple from Red Wings games I’ve been to.
    I like the Billy Idol version of Mony, Mony better than the Tommy James version but they are both good. Also check out 2 Unlimited’s “Twilight Zone”, and the theme for Mortal Combat, both old school techno songs. I’ll try to come up with some more…

    Comment by Jason | November 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. Come on! No one listed “Eye of the Tiger?” We always listened to that one before our games. I had a bunch more on my personal cd, but I don’t know if the kids in your area would be up to those. My kids would definitely just laugh. If it isn’t gangsta rap, they don’t understand.

    Comment by Ve | November 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

